Janice Luttrell Response to Facebook Group Complaint

Sep 16, 2019

Janice Luttrell posted statements to the Facebook group Everything McHenry stating that her pet’s conventional Heska allergy tests were a failure and she wanted her money back from the appointment 3.5 years ago in April 2016.

I feel that I need to take some time defending my office, again, against social media discussions that are not only detrimental to my business and reputation but are actually false and misrepresent Riverside Animal Clinic & Holistic Center.

Janice came in more than 3 years ago with an itchy cat. Dr. Jason Olech suggested the cat receive conventional allergy testing. Labs for food and environmental testing were ordered. These labs were also approved by me, Dr. Jim Carlson, holistic veterinarian and owner of Riverside Animal Clinic & Holistic Center.

Since Buttons’ tests came back negative for those items, the owner was upset, said that Dr. Olech called this an “epic fail” a term to which he denies making (of course). Why? Because plenty can be learned even from negative test results. The next recommendations would be to move on to holistic testing, diet changes, novel proteins, medications.

Ms. Luttrell did not return for treatment or discussions. In an online post seeking a veterinarian for her cat, she blamed Riverside Animal Clinic in an exaggerated rant about our services. As I pointed out to her today in a meeting in my office, her real problem was with the lab test. An issue we could easily discuss but that painting our business as a failure because she didn’t like the test result was unfair. At that point she slammed the door and left the office.

My weekend and that of my family was completely ruined by this woman. We work 70-80 hours a week. The time I have at home should be valued as much as the time I spend working this office. This time, Janice Luttrell took that important family time away from my wife, my kids and myself.

The constant defense of veterinary practices by people who post to social media is becoming an epic crisis. Do you realize the suicide rate of veterinarians is 3.5x more than the general population? Do you really have to ask yourself why?

Here are Janet Luttrell’s pet’s notes. Pets don’t have HIPPA so I can publish these notes to my blog legally. Unfortunately, this is necessary, too, in the defense of a really great practice that is only made so very stressful by people like Janice Luttrell.

Record:Added:Summary:Reference:Provider:Updated By:Invoice:
Client CommunicationApr 30, 2016 08:46 PMPrescription #1387629
Given: Apr 30, 2016 08:46 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Client Communication Notes:Called client for scheduled phone consult to review allergy test results and spoke with Janice. I reported the results of the Heska Allergy Test results which came back completely unremarkable, which was very unexpected. The client was very upset by this and expressed that she only makes $22,000.00/year and that the expense of this test was extreme for her. I explained to Janice that we have no possible way of predicting/knowing the test results, of any given test, without sending a sample to the lab and waiting for the results to be presented to us just as we present them to our clients. I explained to the client that lab testing is not perfect and I explained to her that on the results reported by the lab that it is states that “patients who test negative for IgE related antibodies may still have allergies despite negative test results and that unremarkable results do not rule out the possibility of allergies.” I also explained that there are several forms of allergy testing available and that each vary in cost and that all of them may vary with the results reported (this was explained prior to submitting the test. I continued to explain that we did give her the option to continue symptomatic care, instead of testing, as we have been doing right along (given that it has been effective in helping to control the observed otitis externa to a significant extent). When the client was presented with the option for testing given her concerns for the patient, the client elected to pursue testing, we did not force this on her. I explained to the client that I still feel that Allergies may be a likely possibility despite these test results and that it is unusual for a patient to have perfect test results with absolutely no reactivity. I explained that the next step would be for her to bring in the ingredient labels on her food offered at home so that we can review these ingredients together as we continue to work through this problem. The client insisted that she was very upset by this and feels that we wasted her money. I explained that we are investigators and that we are here to help and that not every patient gets a clear diagnosis and that for some patients this can take much longer than expected and in some instances requires several tests and repeat testing. I explained that I am more than happy to continue working with them to try and resolve this problem, but as an alternative, if she is not comfortable with my medical opinion I explained that I can refer her to Dr. Carlson for a second opinion. I explained that I can refer her to another office for a second opinion or to a dermatology specialist to consider additional treatment options, if any exist. I explained that we can continue working to find the source of the problem causing the observed ear infections or that we can also elect to stop treatment, but that I am at the mercy of her decision and how far she wishes to go to pursue the potential cause of the observed symptoms. The client elected to stop therapy at this time and will monitor the patient at home. Dr. Olech will consult with Dr. Carlson regarding this matter during our meeting on Tuesday.
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Phone callApr 27, 2016 09:46 PMPrescription #1386723
Given: Apr 27, 2016 09:46 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Phone call Notes:Called O and let her know that the Heska Allergy test is back and I will email results to O and set up a consult for Dr. olech to call her saturday to go over any questions she might have. AN
Assistant ..Assistant ..Migrated Record
New Client Registration FormApr 23, 2016 04:55 PMPrescription #1385755
Given: Apr 23, 2016 04:55 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Assistant ..Assistant ..Migrated Record
Phone callApr 23, 2016 03:59 PMPrescription #1385705
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:59 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Phone call Notes:JDK: 04-23-16 at 11:59a: Owner calling with payment for $351. Holding HESKA test until we receive payment. JDK: 04-23-16 at 12:18p: Owner called with payment.
Assistant ..Assistant ..Migrated Record
Ready To GoApr 23, 2016 03:50 PMGiven: Apr 23, 2016 03:50 PM
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Convenia 11-20Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PMPrescription #1385694
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Convenia 11-20 Notes:Gave 0.6 mL Sq. RAE: 04-23-16 at 11:49a:
Instructions: Convenia 11-20 Notes:Gave 0.6 mL Sq. RAE: 04-23-16 at 11:49a:
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Dexamethasone InjApr 23, 2016 03:49 PMPrescription #1385695
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Dexamethasone Inj Notes:Gave 0.3 mL SQ. RAE: 04-23-16 at 11:49a:
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Depo Medrol InjectionApr 23, 2016 03:49 PMPrescription #1385696
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Depo Medrol Injection Notes:Gave 0.5 mL SQ. RAE: 04-23-16 at 11:49a:
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Ear Flush & CleanApr 23, 2016 03:49 PMPrescription #1385697
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Routine Examination GeneralApr 23, 2016 03:49 PMGiven: Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PM
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
New Client DiscountApr 23, 2016 03:49 PMPrescription #1385699
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:49 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: New Client Discount
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Food and Environment Panel (HESKA)Apr 23, 2016 03:48 PMPrescription #1385691
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:48 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Notes: Food and Environment Panel (HESKA) Notes:Collected 12 mL blood from jugular and placed into two 6ml Heska blood collection tubes. AMN: 04-27-16 at 5:50p: Emailed results to O.
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Nail TrimApr 23, 2016 03:48 PMGiven: Apr 23, 2016 03:48 PM
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Hazardous Waste Disp. FeeApr 23, 2016 03:48 PMPrescription #1385693
Given: Apr 23, 2016 03:48 PM
Quantity: 1 Unit(s)
Lot: Unassigned 1 Unit(s)
Jason O.Jason O.Migrated Record
Medical Note (Apr 23, 2016)Apr 23, 2016 02:48 PMAssessment: Appointment notes for 04-23-16 Notes:-NEW CLIENT- exam, has been itching herself lately, has been more chronic, nail trim. AN Patient check-in Notes:-NEW CLIENT- exam, has been itching herself …
Jason O.Jason O.

© 2019 Vetter Software Inc. All rights reserved.

Need help? Text us at 815-406-6089.